Menlo Park - April 20, 2010 - 12 noon to 1:30 PM
The future of education and learning

Mohr Davidow Ventures
3000 Sand Hill Road, Building 3, Suite 290
Menlo Park, CA 94025


Name
Email
URL
1
Ben Casnocha
ben@casnocha.com
http://ben.casnocha.com
2
Chris Yeh
chris@chrisyeh.com
http://chrisyeh.blogspot.com
3
Maria Pacana
maria.pacana@gmail.com

4
Kai Chang
myfirstname@tedxberkeley.org
www.tedxberkeley.org
5
Max Marmer
max@maxmarmer.com
http://maxmarmer.com/
6
Eliezer Yudkowsky
sentience@pobox.com
http://yudkowsky.net/
7
David Weekly
david@weekly.org
http://davidweekly.org/
8
Michael Vassar
michael.vassar@gmail.com
www.lesswrong.com
9
Don Yates
dyates@yatesassociates.com

10
Cynthia Holladay
cholladay@uprightmarketing.com
http://uprightmatters.com
11
Claude Ezran
firstname@lastname.com
www.pamusicday.org
12
Tyler Willis
willis.tyler@gmail.com
www.tylerwillis.net
13
Katherine Barr

http://www.mdv.com
14
Bernard Moon
bernard.moon@gmail.com
http://bernardmoon.blogspot.com
15
Bob Karr
bkarr@linksv.com
www.linksv.com
16
Jack Herrick
jack@wikihow.com
http://www.wikihow.com/User:JackHerrick
17
Stephen Dodson
stephen.j.dodson@gmail.com

18
David Hecht
hechtic@gmail.com
http://www.hectic.com

Notes:
  • The most important learning you do happens after you graduate from school -- yet we only think systematically about education that hapepns under age 21.
  • Now it's possible to learn in complete anarchy environments or complete structured environments
  • Video games: every level is progressively harder and allows you to succeed 90% of the time and fail 10% of the time, which is a good mix to keep you challenged but also successful / optimistic / self-confident.
  • People live quiet lives of desperation and sit in the home waiting for someone to invite them to something.
  • Air Conditioning London -- Olympics London 2012
  • When the same organization is doing the evaluating as the actual instruction, as is the case with schools, there's sure to be a short circuit.
  • It's not about education -- it's about learning
  • Bad money driving out good is a generic phenomenon
  • "Experience points" -- you should earn points by trying new things and accumulating experiences
  • In school you get some social skills. You need a social education.
  • Not being nice is a form of incompetence.
  • How to structure your own secular church of learning?